wrought iron holdfast

As my workbench has no tail vise I will be relying heavily on the power of that old L of Iron, the Holdfast. This would also be my first dip into the sea of blacksmithing, so I figured a simple project would be great to cut my teeth on.

I started out with a small piece of 5/8″ square wrought iron gate scrap. Bent it into an L ish shape, then upset the corner as sharply as I could. This turned out to be more difficult than Peter Right made it look on Roys show, but I finally figured it out.

IMG_0683

IMG_0700

The drawing out of the foot was actually the most difficult part for me, but I finally got there and then worked on a graceful bend.

IMG_0737

I was going for some combination between the british and French designed holdfast, but went much more british finally.

IMG_0760

Cleaned everything up on the big grindstone and fire blackened again to finish.

IMG_0744

All in all a satisfying project. If I had to change anything I would use larger stock and make the reach farther. My mini roubo bench wanted some size appropriate holdfasts, but these were a bit too small. They do hold well after a few dings were put into the shaft, and they help with everything more than I could have hoped!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

