Cherry knee Shaving horse

After falling in love with that lovely piece of poplar making my wife’s spoon mule I decided to make myself a shaving horse.

As with the mule I first split the log with my trusty dogwood wedges and a few blows from the ole’   “el KABOING!” bugs bunny mallet. Poplar normally splits as straight as an arrow, this log had a bit of twist which had to be hewn straight with the broad hatchet. Legs were added as Bella tried out her knew boots in the driveway. No more muddy paws in the tent!

Rather than the traditional German “dumbhead” or English “bodegas” style clamping mechanisms, I decided on a rarer form of clamp utilizing a natural crotch or knee from a cherry our neighbor had kindly given us.

The knee was shaped and its shaft trimmed to fit snugly through a mortise trimmed though the bench top.  A 5/8″ hickory dowel pegs it in place with two holes for different height options. The knee clamps against a simple wedge shaped from the same poplar which rests below.

IMG_2764 IMG_2766 IMG_2768 IMG_2776 IMG_2779 IMG_2780 IMG_2781 IMG_2782 IMG_2784 IMG_2837

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cherry knee Shaving horse

  1. Jesse thorpe says:

    My I ask where in east ky you live? I watched the videos that you have posted and find them very good.


Leave a Reply

